India Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends Highlights: IND-L skittle out SLL to win Road Safety World series title – The Indian Express

  • October 2, 2022

India Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends Road Safety World Series Final Highlights: Naman Ojha’s 108 not out and an exemplary performance by the bowlers helped India Legends defeat Sri Lanka Legends by 33 runs to clinch the Road Safety World Series title on Saturday. Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyu Mithun were the pick among the bowlers as India Legends wiped out Sri Lanka Legends at 162 runs, chasing 195.
Ishan Jayaratne (51) was the only bright spark in an otherwise ordinary Sri Lanka batting lineup who looked out of their depth against a concentrated India bowling lineup. Earlier, India Legends, led by Sachin Tendulkar won the toss and opted to bat first in the  final match of the Road Safety World Series against Sri Lanka Legends in Raipur.
One more trophy in the bag. @sachin_rt @iamyusufpathan #IndiaLegends
— Irfan Pathan (@IrfanPathan) October 2, 2022
Follow highlights from INDL vs SLL below.
Vinay Kumar takes another wicket as Jayaratne is finally gone. And with that, Sri Lanka’s last hope disappears. And the last one also bites the dust. IND L win by 33 runs.
Mithun takes another and this time it’s Udana. That’s a duck for him as India Lergends close in on another title victory. SLL 149/8 after 17.3 overs
Time for the 18th over now and Sri Lanka legends are trying with all their might but it might be a little too late now. 52 from 18 required now. Mithun gets hit for a four off the first ball. Next ball Udawatte is gone!! Taken by Irfan Pathan. SLL 148/7 after 17.2 overs
Mithun to bowl the 16th over. 2 runs from the first ball, including a wide. Jayaratne takes a single to rotate strike. A widfe again. Extras piling up. Over ends with a four!! SLL 128/6 after 16 overs
Y Pathan in to bowl the 14th and that’s a six by Jayaratne!! 3 runs from the next 2 balls. 2 more runs. Just the last ball left in this over. 1 from the last one too. SLL 107/6 after 14 overs
Rajesh Pawar in to bowl the 13th and that’s a wicket. Confusion reigns supreme in the middle and J Mendis is run out. That’s wicket number six. SLL 85/6 after 12.1 overs
You cannot keep Naman Ojha out of action tonight! A century, a catch, 2 stumpings and a run out!#INDLvsSLL #RoadSafetyWorldSeries #RSWS #YehJungHaiLegendary
Y Pathan in to bowl the 12th and he strikes. Gunaratne is caught by Binny. Sri Lanka Legends are reeling now after losing 5 wickets. SLL 85/5 after 12 overs
Rajesh Pawar in to bowl the 11th and Gunaratne starts with a boundary. Rotates strike with a single in the next ball. 9 from the over. SLL 76/4 after 11 overs
10 overs gone and SLL seem nowehere in sync for the chase of 196. They’ve lost four crucial wickets and another one might kill the match, in comes the caution. India Legends holding them against the wall at the moment. 11 runs off that last over, the scorecard reads 67/4.
Asela Gunaratne smacks one over the long on region for a four and brings up the fifty for Sri Lanka Legends. Eight runs off the over, scoreboard reads 56/4 and it is a strategic time-out.
Upul Tharanga gone!
Stuart Binny gets the southpaw to edge one and Naman Ojha makes no mistake. What a final he is having! An unbeaten hundred, two catches and a stumping so far. After 8 overs Sri Lanka Legends are 48/4. 
JEEZ! That was a quick piece of stumping from Naman Ojha, who hasn’t put a foot wrong in this final so far. But Sri Lanka captain Tillakaratne Dilshan did off that Rahul Sharma delivery and he pays the price for it. 40/3 after seven overs.
Boundaries have been hard to find for Sri Lanka legends as they finish the first six overs with just 33 runs at the loss of two wickets. The field restrictions are now lifted.
Sri Lanka Legends yet to have a double figure scoring over in this match. While Pawar and Vinay Kumar have picked the wickets, it has been a mighty fine piece of bowling from Mithun, only conceding eight runs from his two overs. After five overs, the score is 29/2.
Pawar Power!! This man keeps taking wickets in the powerplay for the @India__Legends ! Sri Lanka Legends are 33-2 after the powerplay losing both their openers cheaply.#INDLvsSLL #RoadSafetyWorldSeries #RSWS #YehJungHaiLegendary
Rajesh Pawar picks the second wicket for India Legends. Naman Ojha stumps Munaweera.
Vinay Kumar in to bowl the second and jayasuria starts his over with a boundary. The bowler comes back the very next ball as Jayasuria’s bails are rattled. BOWLED!!! SLL 11/1 after 2 overs
Munaweera and Jayasuriya are at the crease. Munaweera is on strike. Mithun will open the attack. Munaweera starts with a four. The next balls yield just 1 run. SLL 6/0 after 1 over
End of the India Legends innings. Isuru Udana dismisses both the Pathan brothers. Stuart Binny finishes it with back to back boundaries over third man and long on. Sri Lanka Legends will need to score 196 runs to win.
Rajasthan Royals fans will relate. The crowd in Raipur gives a standing ovation as the opener takes a bow. India Legends finish the 19th over at 185/4.
TON UP FOR NAMAN OJHA! A blitzering knock from the wicketkeeper as he gets it off just 68 balls! The @India__Legends with a wonderful fightback!#INDLvsSLL #RoadSafetyWorldSeries #RSWS #YehJungHaiLegendary
Irfan Pathan turns back the clock. Three boundaries off that Isuru Udana over. With 12 balls to go in the innings, India Legends are 171/4.
India Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends Highlights: Here are the two squads
ind vs aus India Legends take on Sri Lanka Legends
Sri Lanka Legends Squad: Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Udawatte, Tillakaratne Dilshan(c), Upul Tharanga(w), Ishan Jayaratne, Chamara Silva, Jeevan Mendis, Chaturanga de Silva, Asela Gunaratne, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad, Dilruwan Perera, Chaminda Vaas, Chamara Kapugedera, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Thisara Perera, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Dilshan Munaweera
India Legends Squad: Naman Ojha(w), Sachin Tendulkar(c), Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Stuart Binny, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Rajesh Pawar, Rahul Sharma, Munaf Patel, Abhimanyu Mithun, Vinay Kumar, Ravi Gaikwad, Harbhajan Singh, S Badrinath, Manpreet Gony, Pragyan Ojha