EPL fixtures today: Premier League schedule for Matchday 2 of 2022/23 season – Sporting News

  • September 8, 2022

The second round of Premier League fixtures of the 2022/23 season features home matches for Manchester City and Liverpool and a colossal London clash between Chelsea and Tottenham.
Manchester United are hoping to put their opening day defeat behind them on the road, and Aston Villa will aim to earn their first points of the campaign in the earliest kick-off.
Wolverhampton Wanderers, West Ham United, Everton, Southampton, Nottingham Forest and Crystal Palace are also hoping to recover from defeats in their first matches.
What’s the schedule for Matchday 2? The Sporting News has all the details so you can plan three days of football-watching.
MORE: Fantasy football tips & picks for Premier League Matchweek 2

Despite the Premier League opening the season on a Friday last week, there are no EPL fixtures on this date.
Aston Villa vs. Everton
12:30 BST / 07:30 ET / 21:30 AEST
Questions have already been raised over manager Steven Gerrard’s impact at Aston Villa following their 2-0 defeat at newcomers Bournemouth on Saturday, while Everton performed respectably in a 1-0 home loss to Chelsea.
One good omen for former England midfielder Gerrard, who was appointed during the middle of last season, is that Villa are unbeaten in six editions of this fixture, keeping clean sheets in each of their three home games against the Toffees during that run.
MORE: The best stats from Premier League matchday one: Arsenal’s debutants shine, Liverpool stagger and Tottenham make club history
Arsenal vs. Leicester City
15:00 BST / 10:00 ET / 00:30 AET (Sun, Aug. 14)
Strengthened Arsenal looked revitalised in their 2-0 win at Crystal Palace, when new signing Gabriel Jesus led the line dangerously and 21-year-old midfielder Gabriel Martinelli scored the opener.
The Gunners should face a sterner test against a Leicester side who finished eighth last season and were 2-0 ahead at home to Brentford, only to concede twice without reply during the second half to finish the day with a point.
Brighton & Hove Albion vs. Newcastle United
15:00 BST / 10:00 ET / 00:30 AET (Sun, Aug. 14)
The first meeting of the weekend between two teams who won on Matchday 1 pits a Brighton side who outwitted Manchester United 2-1 at Old Trafford – Pascal Gross scoring twice – with a Newcastle team who are dark horses this season.
The Magpies continued their transformation from routine relegation battlers to a team looking up, winning 2-0 at home to Championship play-off winners Nottingham Forest through second-half goals by Fabian Schar and Callum Wilson.
Manchester City vs. Bournemouth
15:00 BST / 10:00 ET / 00:30 AET (Sun, Aug. 14)
Erling Haaland scored both of Man. City’s goals in their 2-0 win at West Ham, although regular Premier League watchers will know that is no guarantee of another positive result against the promoted Cherries.
Jefferson Lerma gave Bournemouth a lightning start on their return to the Premier League with the opener against Villa after two minutes. Kieffer Moore netted ten minutes from time in a performance that belied his side’s status as preseason relegation candidates.
Southampton vs. Leeds United
15:00 BST / 10:00 ET / 00:30 AET (Sun, Aug. 14)
A shock briefly looked on when talisman James Ward-Prowse put Southampton ahead at Spurs after 12 minutes in what turned out to be a 4-1 drubbing for Saints at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.
Leeds had the opposite feeling, falling behind at home to Wolves in the sixth minute before turning the match around through Rodrigo Moreno and Rayan Ait-Nouri.
MORE: Premier League MVP, matchday one: Aleksandar Mitrovic proves doubters wrong as Fulham hold Liverpool
Wolves vs. Fulham
15:00 BST / 10:00 ET / 00:30 AET (Sun, Aug. 14)
Bruno Lage’s Wolves have lost one of their last 11 meetings with Fulham, winning the last three by the only goal of the game.
The Cottagers will feel there has never been a better time to change that record after storming to the Championship title and going ahead twice at home to Liverpool in their opening match, eventually settling for a 2-2 draw.
Brentford vs. Manchester United
17:30 BST / 12:30 ET / 02:30 AEST (Sun, Aug. 14)
Christian Eriksen, who was inspirational for Brentford after signing a short-term contract with the Bees in January, makes a quick return to his former club with a Manchester United side reeling from their unexpected defeat to the Seagulls.
New United manager Erik ten Hag will be quietly desperate for his first competitive win. Ivan Toney and Josh Dasilva’s goals to earn that point at Leicester showed that the Foxes’ spirit has not left with Eriksen.
Nottingham Forest vs. West Ham
14:00 BST / 09:00 ET / 23:00 AEST
After a 23-year wait, Forest fans are on the brink of seeing Premier League football return to the City Ground.
Neither the hosts nor West Ham should be unduly dispirited by their defeats on Matchday 1. The Hammers have lost one of their last eight league games against Forest, winning five of those matches.
MORE: English Premier League table 2022/23: Updated EPL standings and race for title, Champions League places, and relegation survival
Chelsea vs. Tottenham Hotspur
16:30 BST / 11:30 ET / 01:30 AEST (Mon, Aug. 15)
Arguably the most enticing clash of the weekend features Chelsea, who claimed third place last season, against opponents who finished immediately beneath them.
Tottenham looked more impressive on Matchday 1 but have a wretched recent record in this fixture, failing to beat the Blues in their last seven attempts in the league while losing their last three against them and failing to score in their last four.
Liverpool vs. Crystal Palace
20:00 BST / 15:00 ET / 05:00 AET (Mon, Aug. 15)
Liverpool gave a forgettable first performance, looking uncharacteristically lethargic at times before rescuing a point against Fulham through their reliably attritional attack.
Palace rued failing to take their chances against Arsenal and would love to end their 10-match losing streak against the Reds by repeating their 2-1 victory at Anfield in April 2017.
MORE: Peacock Premier League schedule in USA: How to live stream EPL soccer matches
There are no Premier League fixtures on this date.
There are no Premier League fixtures on this date.
There are no Premier League fixtures on this date.

source

dgdgfdeeewasa dgdgfdeeewasa dgdgfdeeewasa